Here’s an archive of old news items.


2-13-07: ’81 Swartz Car Being Prepared by Bill Holder

Board member Bob Markos did a little investive work several years ago and was rewarded by finding the frame from the 1982 wedge car that motored Charlie Swartz to the DTWC title in 1982. The car had been driven by Tony Izzo Sr. following Swartz and then sold to a local driver. Then the car sat outside for many years til the HOF was able to make the purchase. Upon retrieval, the car was transported to Bechelli Motosports where Mike installed the missing rotors and hubs and made the steering system functional.

Then, the car was transported to Swartz Racecars where a replica body will be installed by owner Audie Swartz and crew. Hopefully, the car will be ready for display at the 2007 Induction ceremony on 11 August at Florence Speedway. The Hall of Fame is certainly appreciative of the efforts of these two companies.
You can see a picture of the Swartz chassis here.

2-9-07: NDLMHOF Open More in 2007 by Bill Holder

The capability to visit the Hall of Fame will be greatly improved for the 2007 season. HOF supporter Jim Klette will have the HOF open from 1-5 each Saturday when the track is running. Jim can also arrange for special openings.

Any questions, give Jim a call at 859-393-6976/859-727-2524 or e-mail him at

2-7-07: NDLMHOF Acquires New Car by Bill Holder
In January 2007,, the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame acquired a significant piece of Dirt Late Model History from John Mason, a 2003 HOF Inductee.

John has long been known for his technical innovations, and the car he loaned on a long-term basis to the HOF certainly demonstrates that fact. It’s a 1978 Camaro-bodied late model that carries what is probably the first independent rear suspension system. According to John, the car also carried a Corvette body during its career.

The car was active for about three years with the NDRA series of the late 1970s and early 1980s, a series which is generally recognized as the first true traveling series for these cars. NDRA had a lot of participants which are now in the Hall of Fame.

The car will be on display for the complete 2007 season and beyond, and should be a treat for Mason’s many fans and those who are interested in the technical aspects and evolution of these cars.

The Mason car will join the 1986 World 100 winning car of Jeff Purvis, the 1981 World Dirt Track Championship car of Charlie Swartz, and hopefully the early 1970s late model of Larry Moore. You can see the Mason car here.


12-26-06: NDLMHOF Announces 2007 Class by Bill Holder
RIVERSIDE, Ohio As has become its custom, the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Announced its 2007 Induction Class at the DTWC event at KC Speedway last Saturday. The class includes six drivers, a pair of honorees for the Contribution to the Sport award, and the Sportsman Award.

The drivers being honored include Verlin Eakers, Gene Petro, David Spear, HE Vineyard, Herb Scott, and Ralph Earnhardt. The Contribution award goes to the father-son duo of Mike and Mickey Swims, while driver Mike Jewell wins the Sportsman Award.

The group was inducted by the Hall of Fame’s voting board which consists of people in all aspects of the Dirt Late Model sport. The group will be officially inducted into the hall on August 11, 2007 at Florence(Ky) Speedway, the location of the Hall of Fame, in conjuction with the classic North-South 100 race.


%d bloggers like this: